Internship Phases

Important components of the Bachelor's program in Information Management are the two internship phases, in the 4th and 7th semester. The professionally relevant activities in a company, a public institution or a scientific library should contribute significantly to preparing students for their future professional field of activity. The students get a realistic idea of the professional reality as well as the possibilities, limits and problems of the desired professional field. Through their own observation and guided cooperation they get to know the essential tasks and activities of their future professional field. In addition, the students build up in-depth practical knowledge and skills during the internship phases.

During the internship phases the students are supervised in a professional manner. After the completion, the students reflect on the activities they have carried out during the internship, in particular they prepare a report and present their internship position to interested students of all semesters in a colloquium.

Due to the close connection between the internship phases and the competences acquired during the course of study, professional experience gained by students prior to their studies cannot be recognised.

The first internship phase lasts 22 weeks (in the 4th semester), the second phase lasts 11 weeks (in the 7th semester). The practical activities of the second internship phase can be linked to the topic of the Bachelor thesis, which is designed to take 9 weeks. The exact requirements for the internship phase are described in the Internship Phase Regulations .

Further documents on the internship phases can be found under Documents.

Praxisphasen

Wichtige Bestandteile des Studiums im Bachelor-Studiengang Informationsmanagement sind die beiden Praxisphasen: im 4. und 7. Semester. Die berufsrelevanten Tätigkeiten in einem Unternehmen, einer Behörde oder wissenschaftlichen Bibliothek sollen wesentlich dazu beitragen, die Studierenden auf ihr zukünftiges berufliches Tätigkeitsfeld vorzubereiten. Die Studierenden erhalten eine realistische Vorstellung von der Berufswirklichkeit sowie den Möglichkeiten, Grenzen und Problemen des angestrebten Berufsfeldes. Durch eigene Anschauung und angeleitete Mitarbeit lernen sie die wesentlichen Aufgaben und Tätigkeiten ihres künftigen Berufsfeldes kennen. Zudem bauen die Studierenden während der Praxisphasen vertiefte praktische Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten auf.

Während der Praxisphasen werden die Studierenden qualifiziert betreut. Die Studierenden reflektieren die ausgeübten Tätigkeiten in der Praxisphase, insbesondere fertigen sie einen Bericht an und stellen ihre Praktikumsstelle in einem Kolloquium interessierten Studierenden aller Semester vor.

Wegen des engen Bezuges der Praxisphasen auf die im Studium erworbenen Kompetenzen können berufliche Erfahrungen, die Studierende vor dem Studium gesammelt haben, nicht anerkannt werden.

Die erste Praxisphase (4. Semester) dauert 22 Wochen, die zweite Phase (7. Semester) dauert elf Wochen. Die praktischen Tätigkeiten der zweiten Praxisphase können im Zusammenhang mit dem Thema der Bachelor-Arbeit, die für neun Wochen ausgelegt ist, stehen. Die genauen Anforderungen für die Praxisphase sind in der Praxisphasenordnung festgelegt.

Weitere Dokumente zu den Praxisphasen finden Sie unter dem Menüpunkt Dokumente.