Information management deals with the use, planning and control of external and internal information within a company or other organization, taking into account content and the media form.

Information as a production factor

In this context, information is understood as a production factor. The management of information has the task of ensuring the availability of the production factor information and of offering suitable means for meeting the demand for information. This includes, above all, the organization and maintenance of internal operational as well as public and scientific facilities for the supply of information.

In the bachelor's degree program in Information Management, you will learn the methods and expertise for information work in a practical manner. This includes, for example, the creation of databases for literature, media or object documentation, electronic publishing as well as the use of standard software for various purposes such as research, preparation and evaluation of information. Knowledge of applied computer science and the professional use of modern information technology are also part of your future job profile. Courses on the business management of information institutions and on knowledge management as well as training in communication skills will supplement your training content.

Intensive internship phases are a particular advantage of our degree program: they comprise five months in the fourth semester and several weeks in the seventh semester. You can also write your Bachelor's thesis on a topic of practical and industry relevance in cooperation with a company or organization. Extensive project work, excursions and seminars by distinguished guest lecturers from the business world enable you to participate directly in current developments in the information industry.

Six different fields of competence allow for specialization in individual interests and areas during the information management degree program:

The right information at the right time in the right form

As an information manager, you also have a great degree of responsibility: you ensure that the right information is available at the right time in the right form and for the right target group. In addition to professional qualifications, a sense of responsibility, teamwork and communication skills are therefore important prerequisites for a successful professional career.

With the re-accreditation of the Bachelor's Program in Information Management by the accreditation institute ZEvA for 2017-2024, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Hannover is following the current requirements in the occupational profile of information specialists.

For those interested, we offer, on arrangement, a trial to attend courses. For this purpose please contact Felix Heise. For advice, please contact the program coordinator Prof. Dr. Sönke Lieberam-Schmidt .

In the study handbook you will find an overview of all study contents and modules. The current versions of the study handbook and the module overview can be found here.

Insights into student results from courses and theses in the Information Management program have been compiled for you under the menu item Portfolio .

You can find out what projects we are involved with in studies and research under the menu item Projects.

Possible teaching areas in the Information Management program are shown in the following graphic:

Aufgabenbereiche eines Informationsmanagers

Inhalte im Informationsmanagement

Informationsmanagement befasst sich mit der Nutzung, Planung und Steuerung von externen und internen Informationen innerhalb eines Unternehmens oder einer sonstigen Organisation und berücksichtigt dabei Inhalte und die mediale Form. Dabei wird Information als Produktionsfaktor verstanden. Das Management von Informationen hat die Aufgabe, die Verfügbarkeit des Produktionsfaktors Information sicherzustellen und geeignete Mittel zur Erfüllung der Nachfrage nach Informationen anzubieten. Dazu gehören vor allem die Organisation und Pflege von internen betrieblichen sowie öffentlichen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen zur Informationsversorgung.

In dem Bachelor-Studiengang erlernen Sie praxisnah die Methoden und das Fachwissen zur Informationsarbeit. Dazu zählen zum Beispiel der Aufbau von Datenbanken zur Literatur-, Medien- oder Objektdokumentation, das elektronische Publizieren sowie der Einsatz von Standardsoftware für unterschiedliche Zwecke wie Recherche, Aufbereitung und Auswertung von Informationen. Ebenso gehören Kenntnisse in der angewandten Informatik und der professionelle Umgang mit der modernen Informationstechnologie zu Ihrem zukünftigen Anforderungsprofil. Lehrveranstaltungen zum betriebswirtschaftlichen Management von Informationseinrichtungen und zum Wissensmanagement sowie das Training der Kommunikationsfähigkeit ergänzen Ihre Ausbildungsinhalte.

Intensive Praxisphasen sind ein besonderer Vorteil unseres Studiums: Sie umfassen fünf Monate im vierten Semester und mehrere Wochen im siebten Semester. Auch die Bachelor-Abschlussarbeit können Sie zu einem praxis- und branchenrelevanten Thema in Kooperation mit einem Unternehmen bzw. einer Organisation erstellen. Umfangreiche Projektarbeiten, Exkursionen und Seminare durch profilierte Gastdozenten aus der Berufspraxis ermöglichen es Ihnen, unmittelbar an den aktuellen Entwicklungen der Informationsbranche teilzuhaben.

Als Informationsmanager tragen Sie nicht zuletzt eine hohe Verantwortung: Sie sorgen dafür, dass die richtige Information zum richtigen Zeitpunkt in der richtigen Form und für die richtige Zielgruppe zur Verfügung steht. Neben den fachlichen Qualifikationen sind daher Verantwortungsbewusstsein, Team- und Kommunikationsfähigkeit wichtige Voraussetzungen für Ihre erfolgreiche Berufstätigkeit.

Mit der Reakkreditierung des Bachelor-Studiengangs Informationsmanagement durch das Akkreditierungsinstitut ZEvA für 2017-2024 folgt die Hochschule Hannover den aktuellen Anforderungen im Berufsbild von Informationsspezialisten.

Für Interessierte bieten wir nach Absprache an, in Lehrveranstaltungen probeweise hinein zu schnuppern. Hierzu kontaktieren Sie bitte Herrn Felix Heise. Für eine Beratung steht Ihnen der Studiengangssprecher Prof. Dr. Christian Wartena zur Verfügung.

In dem Studienhandbuch finden Sie alle Studieninhalte und Module im Überblick. Die aktuellen Versionen des Studienhandbuchs und die Modulübersicht finden Sie hier.